Health Outlook – AIDS

Hello Everyone!

Welcome, and thanks for checking out PRIDE magazine's official blog spot. I am the health editor for PRIDE, Annalisa Smith, and in my last article I discussed the AIDS epidemic in relation to the African American culture. One of the topics brought up in the article was the "down-low" phenomenon as a possible source for the spread of AIDS, another was the lack of honesty between sexual partners. As male or female, what do you think could be the most effective way to get the word out to the Black community about the AIDS threat? Since 2004, over 50% of the newest cases of AIDS were found to be in the Black community, so there is obviously some disconnect between the message and the people. Is it really as simple as telling the truth before sex? If so, why the hang-up? I want to hear from you, the reader, so let me know what you think or any questions you may have and lets get honest dialogue going . . .

About this entry